Question
How can I remove older versions of JetBrains IDEs to free up disk space, and will my current IDE still work?
Answer
When you update to a new major version of a JetBrains IDE, the IDE retains configuration, caches, logs, and plugin files from previous versions. This allows you to revert to the older version if needed.
However, if you are sure you no longer require the older versions, and you would like to free up disk space, you can manually delete these files.
Steps to Delete Old IDE Directories
-
In the IDE, go to Help | Delete Leftover IDE Directories…
-
A window will appear at the bottom right of the screen — click View and delete…
-
Select the directories you want to remove.
-
Click Delete
...Directories to confirm.
Comments
0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.